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Tariff Naming Rates, and Rules and Regulations Governing the
Transportation of Persons in Paratransit Service Between Points in Pennsylvania




[bookmark: _Hlk505240834]To transport, as a common carrier, by motor vehicle, persons in Paratransit service, from points in the counties of ___________________, to points in Pennsylvania, and return.
(This section must read EXACTLY as stated on your Compliance Letter, right down to the order of the wording, commas, periods, etc. NO CHANGES ARE ALLOWED. PLEASE COPY AND PASTE FROM YOUR COMPLIANCE LETTER!)




Issued: November 4, 2020						Effective: November 5, 2020





Issued Under authority of 52 PA Code Section 23.42




By: Name
Address
City State Zip
Phone Number
RULES & REGULATIONS

1. Advance reservations are required and must be made two (2) hours prior to service being rendered.  Any reservation made less than two (2) hours to travel time will be charged an additional fee. 

2. Rates for mileage are determined by the odometer of the vehicle in use and begin when the vehicle leaves the passenger’s premises. The final mileage reading is determined upon drop-off of the passenger.

3. Additional expenses necessitated by or incurred at the request of the passengers, including but not limited to, highway tolls, bridge tolls, entrance fees and parking, shall be added to the charge of the trip. Expenses for driver’s lodging and meals while on trips out of town which are in excess of ten (10) hours will be added to the basic charge.

4. If any trip requires the vehicle and driver to remain at a destination overnight, or at any point en route to a destination overnight, the patron will be responsible for providing carrier’s driver with accommodations at an overnight facility (motel, hotel) being utilized by the patron, and all meals required by the carrier’s driver. Expenses for driver’s lodging and meals while on trips out of town which are in excess of ten (10) hours will be added to the basic charge.

5. Trips on the following Holidays are subject to Additional fees as listed in RATES:
New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Thanksgiving Day and Black Friday (Day after Thanksgiving)
Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

6. Deposit: All reservations require a deposit of not more than 20% of the quoted charter price. 
a. Deposits are subject to forfeiture of not more than 50% of the deposit if the charter is cancelled by the customer more than 15 but less than 30 days prior to the date the transportation was to depart.
b. Deposits are subject to forfeiture of not more than the total amount of the deposit if the cancellation occurs within 15 days prior to the date the transportation was to depart.

(If deposits are being taken, the Rules above must be followed exactly, no changes to this language are allowed, it has been written by the PUC Law Bureau, no exceptions)



7. CONTRACT SERVICES
Contract services will be for a term of not less than 30 days for pre-qualified persons under a federal, state, county or municipal government agency contract. Rates for the services will be specified in the respective contracts, copies of which, including any amendments thereto, are to be filed with the Commission as executed to become effective on one day’s notice.

(NOTE: NONE of the wording in the Contract Services section above can be changed in any way, it has also been written by PUC Law Bureau, no changes, no exceptions. Also note, Contract Services can be incorporated in your Paratransit business, but if you are working SOLELY on contracts, you have applied for the wrong authority, you would need to apply for Contract Services Authority.)

8. SENIOR CITIZEN DISCOUNT
The rates for senior citizens, having proper identification, will be 15% of the shared ride rate rounded upward to the nearest nickel, provided that the carrier is under contract with the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation under provisions of Section 704 of Act 36 of 1991 (The Lottery Fund Preservation Act).

(Senior Discounts are optional. If your company does not offer them, delete this item. If your company does offer Senior Discounts, the exact wording above must be used.)























SCHEDULE OF RATES
(Per Person)

Flat Rates – For all loaded miles from the point of pickup to point of drop-off (one way)

Standard Hours: 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM
	Wheelchair Van:	$45.00

Evening Hours: 6:00 PM to 8:00 AM
	Wheelchair Van:	$55.00

Weekend Hours: Saturday 12:01 AM to Monday 7:59 AM
	Wheelchair Van:	$65.00

Holidays: 12:01 AM to 11:59 PM
	Wheelchair Van:	$65.00

Dollar amounts listed above are examples only. Your company will set its own pricing.

Mileage rate: $2.75 per mile, or any fraction thereof, applies in addition to the Flat Rate stated above on all loaded miles, after the first ten (10) miles, from the point of pick-up to the final destination.

Reservations: Any Reservation made less than two (2) hours before travel time will be charged an additional $25.00 fee.

Waiting Time At Origin: After the first twenty (20) minutes of free time the passenger will be charged at the rate of $5.00 for every fifteen (15) minute increment, or any fraction thereof.

Waiting Time During Trip: If the driver is requested to wait for a customer at the destination or during a trip, there will be an additional waiting time charge of $5.00 for every fifteen (15) minute increment, or any fraction thereof.

Extra Attendant: An extra attendant shall be provided by reservation in those instances where necessary, according to the passenger’s needs or condition. The charge for the extra attendant is $50.00 per trip and an additional $10.00 per half hour, or any fraction thereof, after the first two (2) hours from Pick Up Time.

Rev 11/2020
