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ORDER
BY THE COMMISSION:  
Before the Commission is a Petition of Rasier-PA LLC (Rasier) for Waiver of Six Month Delay in Implementation of Changes in the Commission’s Vehicle Age and Mileage Regulations at 52 Pa. Code § 29.314 (hereinafter Petition or Petition for Waiver).  This Petition follows a similar request by Lyft, Inc.  See Petition of Lyft Inc. for Waiver of the Current Vehicle Age Requirements Under Section 29.314 of the Commission’s Regulations and for Permission to Use Vehicles Between Eight and Ten Years in Age for the 2015 Calendar Year or until the Commission’s New Age/Mileage Regulations Take Effect, Docket No. P-2015-2465852 (Order entered Mar. 11, 2015) (hereinafter Lyft Petition for Waiver).  Through that Order, the Commission granted Lyft’s Petition for Waiver of the Six Month Delay in the effective date of our forthcoming regulations, contingent on the approval and publication of those forthcoming regulations.  See id. at 10-11.     
BACKGROUND
On April 4, 2013, the Commission adopted a Proposed Rulemaking Order, seeking public comment on proposed revisions to its motor carrier regulations in Sections 29.314 and 29.333 in Title 52 of the Pennsylvania Code.  See Proposed Rulemaking Order, Docket No. L-2013-2349042.  The Commission analyzed the public comments, reevaluated its proposed regulations, and entered a Final Rulemaking Order on November 19, 2014, wherein the Commission eliminated the vehicle list requirement for taxis and limousines, as the vehicle list did not effectively aid the Commission in enforcement efforts.  See Final Rulemaking Order, Docket No. L-2013-2349042 (entered Nov. 19, 2014).  The Commission also eliminated the vehicle waiver program for both taxis and limousines, finding that the waiver exception no longer served the public interest, as limited Commission resources could be more effectively and efficiently utilized in other areas of motor carrier enforcement.  Id. at 37.  As a result of eliminating the vehicle waiver program, the Commission replaced the 8-year vehicle age limitation for taxis with either a 10-year age limitation or a 350,000 mileage limitation, whichever comes first.  Id. at 37, Annex.  The Commission also replaced the 8-year vehicle age limitation for limousines with a vehicle mileage limitation of 350,000 miles.  Id.  The final regulations also incent the use of alternative fuel vehicles (AFVs) by allowing AFVs to operate in taxi service until reaching the age of 12 model years.  Id.
In order to give taxi and limousine carriers time to adjust to the new regulations by investing in new vehicles or adjusting their fleets as necessary, the Commission provided a six month implementation timeframe, signaling that the Commission’s finalized regulations would not be effective until six months after publication of the approved final regulations in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  See Final Rulemaking Order at 21, 35, Annex A.
As required by the Regulatory Review Act, the Commission delivered the Final Rulemaking Order, Executive Summary, and Regulatory Analysis Form to the Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC), the Legislative Reference Bureau, and the legislative committees on February 27, 2015.
   See 71 P.S. § 745.5a; 1 Pa. Code § 305.1.  The Legislative Reference Bureau will only publish the Final Rulemaking Order in the Pennsylvania Bulletin if the final rulemaking is approved by IRRC and not opposed by the legislative committees or the Attorney General.  IRRC evaluated the Commission’s final form regulations at an IRRC Public Meeting on April 16, 2015.  IRRC disapproved the regulations due to a minor issue of clarity, but indicated approval of the substance of the regulations.  IRRC will reevaluate the regulations at a public meeting in the near future. 
Rasier’s Petition For Waiver
On March 16, 2015, Rasier filed with the Commission this Petition for Waiver of the six month delay (the Six Month Delay) in the effective date of the forthcoming vehicle age/mileage regulations so that Rasier’s drivers may immediately operate vehicles under the forthcoming regulations upon publication of those regulations in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  Petition at 1.  Rasier served the Petition on the Bureau of Investigation & Enforcement (I&E), the Office of Small Business Advocate (OSBA), the Office of Consumer Advocate (OCA), the Insurance Federation of Pennsylvania, Persun & Heim P.C., Malone Middleman P.C., Michal S. Henry LLC, David William Donley Esq., Justine Pate Esq., and Joseph T. Sucec Esq.  On March 27, 2015, Keystone Cab Service, Inc., EZ Taxi LLC, United Cab LLC, Good Cab LLC, Amigo Taxi LLC, Dollar Taxi LLC, and Diamond Taxi LLC (Joint Petitioners) filed a motion to join Rasier’s Petition for Waiver of the Six Month Delay.  Commission staff directed the Joint
Petitioners to file a separate Petition for Waiver, which they did on April 2, 2015.  See Docket No. P-2015-2475113.  No answers or protests were filed to Rasier’s Petition for Waiver.
Unlike the traditional passenger motor carrier (i.e., taxi carrier), Rasier is a transportation network company (TNC) offering a mobile ridesharing application that connects members of the public seeking rides with drivers who drive their own vehicles and work flexible schedules.  See Petition at 3.  Rasier is a subsidiary of Uber Technologies, Inc.  See Application for Experimental Service of Rasier-PA LLC, A‑2014‑24167127 (filed Apr. 14, 2014).  On April 14, 2014, Rasier filed applications for certificates of public convenience to provide passenger transportation services between points within Allegheny County and throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.  See Docket Nos. A-2014-2416127 and A-2014-2424608.  The Commission indicated that the Commission’s forthcoming vehicle age/mileage regulations will apply to Rasier.  See Applications of Rasier-PA LLC for Experimental Service, Docket Nos. A-2014-2416127 at p. 44, fn. 17 and A-2014-2424608 at p. 37, fn. 12 (Orders entered Dec. 5, 2014).     
On December 5, 2014, the Commission conditionally approved the applications, subject to the filing of a Compliance Plan by Rasier demonstrating compliance with specific Commission criteria and regulations
 by submitting a Compliance Plan, a Form E Certificate of Insurance, a tariff under the terms of the Commission order, an affiliated interest agreement, and certain trip information data.  Docket Nos. A-2014-2416127 at 72 and A-2014-2424608 at 75 (Orders entered Dec. 5, 2014).  After Rasier submitted the necessary forms and demonstrated compliance, the Commission approved Rasier’s Compliance Plans on January 29, 2015.  See Opinion and Order Regarding Compliance Filing, Docket Nos. A-2014-2416127 and A-2014-2424608 (Order entered January 29, 2015) (hereinafter Compliance Filing Order).  In the Compliance Filing Order, we emphasized that Rasier will need to comply with the current 8-model year vehicle age limitation until new regulations are approved.  Id. at 7; see 52 Pa. Code § 29.314.  
Rasier’s petition contains a simple request: a waiver of the Six Month Delay in the effective date of the forthcoming regulation, which carries the 10-model year vehicle age limit and the 350,000 mileage limit, whichever occurs first.  See Petition at 1; see Final Rulemaking Order, Annex A.  Rasier notes that the Commission recently granted a similar request by Lyft Inc., a competing TNC. Petition at 3 (citing Lyft Petition for Waiver).  The Commission explained that the purpose of the Six Month Delay was to give taxi and limousine carriers time to adjust to the new regulations and invest in new vehicles as necessary.  Petition at 3 (citing Lyft Petition for Waiver at 9).  Accordingly, there existed no valid reason for denying a TNC from utilizing available drivers if that TNC is “ready and capable to adhere to the forthcoming regulations when and if those regulations are formally approved and published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.”  Id. (citing Lyft Petition for Waiver at 9).  Holding otherwise would needlessly curtail the availability of TNC drivers and would be contrary to the Commission’s desire to establish the dual age/mileage metric.  Id.  Rasier further explains that allowing Rasier to operate under the forthcoming regulations and not wait six months would “facilitate Rasier-PA’s efforts to meet consumer demand and would ensure that competing TNCs are subject to the same rules.”  Petition at 4.   

DISCUSSION

Legal Context

Section 1501 of the Public Utility Code requires every public utility in Pennsylvania to “maintain adequate, efficient, safe, and reasonable service and facilities” and to “make all such repairs, changes, alterations, substitutions, extensions, and improvements in or to such service and facilities as shall be necessary or proper for the accommodation, convenience, and safety of its patrons, employees, and the public.”  66 Pa. C.S. § 1501.  Pursuant to that authority and Section 501 of the Public Utility Code, the Commission has previously promulgated and has recently amended motor carrier passenger regulations to ensure the availability of safe and reliable taxi and limousine fleets for the public.  See Final Rulemaking Order, Docket No. L-2013-2349042.  
Section 29.314(d) of our regulations currently provides, in relevant part: 

Unless otherwise permitted by the Commission, a vehicle may not be operated in call and demand service which is more than 8 model years old.
52 Pa. Code § 29.314.  The language “unless otherwise provided” triggered the creation of the Commission’s informal vehicle waiver program.  See Proposed Rulemaking Order, Docket No. L-2013-2349042 at 2-3, 5-8 (discussing history and mechanics of Commission’s vehicle waiver program).  The recently amended and finalized Section 29.314(c) provides, in relevant part:

A vehicle that is more than 10 model years old or has more than 350,000 miles of cumulative mileage registered on its odometer may not be operated in call and demand service.  
See Final Rulemaking Order, Annex A.

A petition for waiver of a Commission regulation must set forth clearly and concisely the petitioner’s interest, the relevant legal authority, the purpose of the petition, and the facts claimed to constitute the grounds requiring waiver of the regulation.  52 Pa. Code § 5.43(a); see also 1 Pa. Code § 35.18.  The petitioner must serve copies of the petition on persons or parties the petitioner believes will be affected by the petition, the Commission, the Commission’s Bureau of Investigation and Enforcement (I&E), the Office of Consumer Advocate, and the Office of Small Business Advocate.  52 Pa. Code § 5.43(b).  Answers to petitions for waiver must be filed within 20 days of the date of service of the petition.  52 Pa. Code § 5.61(a)(1).  The Commission may grant a petition for waiver that is in the public interest under the Commission’s statutory authority to rescind or modify regulations or orders.  See 66 Pa. C.S. § 501(a).   
Disposition of Rasier’s Petition for Waiver 
As required by 52 Pa. Code § 5.43, Rasier concisely set forth the purpose of the petition and properly served the petition on I&E and the statutory advocates.  In its Petition, Rasier seeks a waiver of the Six Month Delay in the effective date in the forthcoming vehicle age/mileage regulations so that Rasier’s drivers may immediately operate vehicles under the 10-model year vehicle age limit and the 350,000 mileage limit, whichever occurs first. 
In creating the Six Month Delay, we did not intend to unnecessarily prevent the use of vehicles between eight and ten model years of age in establishing the dual age/mileage metric in the forthcoming regulations.  Rather, the Commission’s intent in delaying the effective date of the forthcoming regulations by six months was to give taxi and limousine carriers time to adjust to the new regulations by investing in new vehicles or adjusting their fleets
 as necessary.  See Final Rulemaking Order, at 21, 35.  If Rasier is ready and capable to adhere to the forthcoming regulations when and if those regulations are formally approved and published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin,  we see no harm or reason to deny Rasier and its drivers the opportunity to serve the traveling public for another six months.  Finding otherwise would not only needlessly curtail the availability of Rasier drivers, but is contrary to our desire to establish the dual age/mileage metric and our intent in providing the Six Month Delay, a grace period for existing carriers to adapt and
invest in new vehicles.  See Final Rulemaking Order, at 21, 35.  The fact that no answers or protests were filed to the Petition for Waiver indicates a lack of opposition or perception of any cognizable, real harm, should the Petition for Waiver of the Six Month Delay be granted.
Rasier’s Petition contains the exact same request as the Lyft Petition for Waiver: a waiver of the Six Month Delay in the effective date in the forthcoming vehicle age/mileage regulations.  We granted Lyft’s waiver request on March 11, 2015.  See Lyft Petition for Waiver, Docket No. P-2015-2465852.  Here, the same relief is sought by a similarly situated company.  As we must balance our statutory duty to protect the traveling public with our mission to promote economic development and foster innovative technologies and competitive markets, we will ensure that Rasier may compete on the same playing field as Lyft.  See Petition at 4.  Accordingly, we will grant Rasier’s Petition for Waiver of the Six Month Delay.  
By granting this waiver, Rasier’s vehicles will be subject to a 10-model year vehicle age limit and a 350,000 mileage limit, whichever comes first, effective upon publication of those regulations at 52 Pa. Code § 29.314 in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
Importantly, granting this waiver hinges on the approval of our final form regulations by IRRC and the publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin of our forthcoming regulation allowing vehicles that are no more than 10 model years or 350,000 cumulative miles, whichever comes first.  If the regulations are not approved, Rasier will have to file a new request or petition for waiver.
CONCLUSION
We must balance our statutory duty to protect the traveling public and serve the public interest with our mission to promote economic development and foster innovative technologies and competitive markets.
  See 66 Pa. C.S. § 1501.  Accordingly, we have issued final form regulations for passenger motor carriers, wherein we replaced the 8-year vehicle age limitation for taxis with either a 10-year age limitation or a 350,000 mileage limitation, whichever comes first.  So as not to hinder economic development and the use of innovative technologies that benefit the traveling public, we grant Rasier’s Petition for Waiver of the Six Month Delay in the effective date of our forthcoming regulations; THEREFORE,
IT IS ORDERED:
1. That Rasier-PA LLC’s request to permit its drivers to operate vehicles in accordance with the Commission’s forthcoming vehicle age and mileage regulations at 52 Pa. Code § 29.314 upon publication of those regulations in the Pennsylvania Bulletin instead of waiting six months thereafter is granted under the terms of this Order.  
2.
That a copy of this Order be served on the Office of Consumer Advocate, the Office of Small Business Advocate, the Commission’s Bureau of Investigation and Enforcement, the Commission’s Bureau of Consumer Services.
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BY THE COMMISSION

Rosemary Chiavetta

Secretary

(SEAL)

ORDER ADOPTED:  April 23, 2015 
ORDER ENTERED:  April 23, 2015
� The Commission had to wait to deliver Final Rulemaking Package until after the new legislative committees for the 2015 Session were formally designated.  See 1 Pa. Code § 311a.5(a)-(b).


� This includes 52 Pa. Code § 29.314 and any amendments thereto regarding vehicle and mileage requirements.  See Allegheny County December 18 Order at 29, n. 9; Statewide December 18 Order at 32, n. 11. 


� Carriers who will need the six months to adapt are those with vehicles under the 8-model year age limit, but contain over 350,000 miles registered on the odometers.


� See PUC Mission Statement, available at � HYPERLINK "http://www.puc.state.pa.us/about_puc.aspx" �http://www.puc.state.pa.us/about_puc.aspx�; see also Application of Lyft, Joint Statement of Chairman Robert F. Powelson and Commissioner Pamela A. Witmer, Docket Nos. A-2014-2415045, A-2014-2415047 (Feb. 12, 2015).
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